Solar Energy: Crowd funding for Solar Projects
October 30, 2020
Professional Construction Managers and Project Managers are still needed…there is still hope for South Africa!
December 1, 2020
Show all


Studing for exam

By now we should all be aware that the PMI PMP® Exam is changing in the new year.

The last day to take the current version of the PMP® Exam – 31 December 2020.

The first day to take the new version of the PMP® Exam – 2 January 2021.

Three new performance domains:

The exam will still comprise of 200 questions, but based on 3 new performance domains:

  • Domain I: People (84 questions)
  • Domain II: Process (100 questions)
  • Domain III: Business Environment (16 questions)

Analysis shows that 70% of the current PMP exam questions will be contained in Domain II. New questions will therefore be developed for Domain I and Domain III. This means that the new exam will have a lot of new content and will also be a lot harder.

Half of the questions on the new exam (across all 3 domains) will now be on agile and hybrid approaches. You must therefore have both knowledge and experience in these environments.

PMBOK Guide Seventh (7th) Edition

The upcoming PMBOK® Guide 7th Edition has no impact on the new exam. Contrary to what many students and trainers may think, the PMP exam is NOT based on A Guide to The Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide). The PMBOK® Guide is only one of several references PMI uses to design their PMP exam questions.

Instead, the exam is based on The PMP Examination Content Outline. The latest version of the PMP ECO (Examination Content Outline) can be downloaded from the PMI website.

The new PMBOK® Guide 7th Edition is planned for release at the very earliest in Q2 of 2021.   

The most exiting change in the PMBOK 7th Edition is that PMI will be shifting from a PROCESS based approach to a PRINCIPLES based approach. The focus will also change from OUTPUTS to OUTCOMES.  

PMBOK Guide - Changes

12 Project Management Principles

The Standard for Project Management (which is currently Part II but will become Part I) will change from the 5 Process Groups to 12 Project Management Principles (which give guidance on how to achieve intended outcomes to deliver value to the organization and stakeholders):

  1. Stewardship
  2. Team
  3. Stakeholders
  4. Value
  5. Systems Thinking
  6. Leadership
  7. Tailoring
  8. Quality
  9. Complexity
  10. Risk
  11. Adaptability & Resilience
  12. Change

8 Project Performance Domains

A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (which is currently Part I but will become Part II) will change from the 10 Project Management Knowledge Areas to 8 Project Performance Domains (broad areas of focus for project management and project delivery that will concentrate on outcomes):

  1. Stakeholders
  2. Team
  3. Development Approach & Life Cycle
  4. Planning
  5. Project Work
  6. Delivery
  7. Measurement
  8. Uncertainty

There will also be a Tailoring chapter, as well as a Models, Methods and Artifacts (MMA) chapter in this section.

Shopping Cart
There are no products in the cart!
Continue Shopping