PMI-SP Exam Sterling Success on 1st attempt!
October 28, 2020
Mokopane the fifth Spar Supermarket to go solar through the Sun Exchange
October 28, 2020
Show all

PMBOK Guide Seventh (7th) Edition

PMBOK Guide 7th: The current PMP exam will expire on 31st December 2020, and with the new PMBOK® Guide 7th Edition also on the way in early 2021, ProjectPro thought it sensible to revisit the issue and see what changes we can expect from PMI.

We are focussing on sustainability in this issue of our newsletter, which interestingly enough is why PMI decided it was time to change to a new edition. They recognised that the format and approach of the current 6th Edition is no longer reflective of the practice of project management, nor is it sustainable.

The processes in the current Edition show inputs, tools and techniques, and outputs (ITTO’s) associated with each process. These processes used in the 6th Edition lean more towards predictive or waterfall approach. PMI research shows that many projects today are using some form of agile or hybrid approach, so there is a definite need to shift away from the process-based way of presenting not only the Guide, but also the Standard. The new approach will keep the PMBOK® Guide relevant to the changing dynamics of the project management profession.

The most important change in the PMBOK 7th Edition, is that PMI is shifting from a process-based to a principles-based approach, to be more inclusive of the full range of development approaches.

Further, as many of you will be aware the PMBOK Guide 6th Edition comprises two distinct sections, A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge as well as The Standard for Project Management, in that order. The order will change in the 7th Edition so that The Standard for Project Management will now appear before A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge.

The Project Management Standard

The Standard for Project Management currently consists of the 5 Process Groups, Initiating, Planning, Executing, Monitoring & Controlling, and Closing. In the PMBOK Guide 7th Edition, The Standard for Project Management will now cover the Value Delivery System, which will focus on delivering valuable outcomes rather than deliverables. Projects are fundamental components of the Value Delivery System and principles will guide the Project Managers, team members and stakeholders on how to achieve intended outcomes to deliver value to the organization and stakeholders.

The 12 Project Management Principles, are as follows:

  1. Stewardship: Be a diligent, respectful, and caring steward.
  2. Team: Build a culture of accountability and respect.
  3. Stakeholders: Engage stakeholders to understand their interests and needs.
  4. Value: Focus on value.
  5. Systems Thinking: Recognize and respond to systems’ interactions.
  6. Leadership: Motivate, influence, coach, and learn.
  7. Tailoring: Tailor the delivery approach based on context.
  8. Quality: Build quality into processes and results.
  9. Complexity: Address complexity.
  10. Risk: Address opportunities and threats.
  11. Adaptability & Resilience: Be adaptable and resilient.
  12. Change: Enable change to achieve the envisioned future state.

In the PMBOK Guide 7th Edition, A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge, instead of the 10 Project Management Knowledge Areas, there will now be performance domains. There will be Tailoring, Models, Methods and Artifacts (MMA) chapters as well.

The Project Performance Domains are broad areas of focus for project management and project delivery that will concentrate on outcomes. There are 8 Project Performance Domains:

  1. Stakeholders
  2. Team
  3. Development Approach & Life Cycle
  4. Planning
  5. Project Work
  6. Delivery
  7. Measurement
  8. Uncertainty


Lastly, there will be a new digital platform: Standards Plus linked to the PMBOK. This platform will be interactive and contain content that will reflect the “how to…” about current, emerging, and future practices, models, methods, artifacts, and other useful information. Standards Plus aims to start with ITTO’s from PMBOK 6th Edition and incorporate new resources as it evolves.

There you have it. We hope this clarifies some of the questions you had on the PMBOK Guide 7th Edition.


Shopping Cart
There are no products in the cart!
Continue Shopping